One-match suspension for Campbell
Zimbabwe opener Alistair Campbell was on Tuesday handed a one-match suspension for showing dissent following his dismissal in the quarter-final against New Zealand in the ICC Knockout Trophy, at the Nairobi Gymkhana Club
grounds on Monday.
The suspension, handed out by match referee Cammie Smith of the
West Indies, means that Campbell, Zimbabwe's in-form batsman, will
miss the team's first match against Sri Lanka on Day 2 of the
Sharjah Coca-Cola tournament on October 21.
India, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe are the three teams in the competition, which begins on
October 20.
Batting against legspinner Chris Harris, Campbell was astonished
to see West Indian umpire Steve Bucknor raise his finger in response
to an appeal from the bowler and stood his ground for close to a minute before
walking off.
In a statement, the International Cricket Council said:
''Following an incident during the 20th over of the match between
Zimbabwe and New Zealand on Monday, October 9, Alistair Campbell has
been found guilty of a breach of the Disciplinary Code Clause 3,
(which regards dissent) by match referee Cammie Smith.
''A hearing was held after the match and Campbell has been
consequently suspended for the first game of the next one-day
international series involving Zimbabwe.''
UNI
Mail Cricket Editor